Writing Group

Exciting things are afoot…sort of!

I’m a member of a writers group which meets about once a month and generally spends a lot of time procrastinating, rather than doing any actual writing. I first went along in March of this year and since then have been nearly every month. I’ve taken part in the discussions, pointed out when people are wrong and generally made a nuisance of myself.

Then, a couple of weeks ago I got a message from the guy who chairs/organises/runs/moderates the group, asking if I would be interested in taking over the leadership, along with Martin, one of the other members who has been been in the group for a couple of years now. Of course I said yes and that I’d be honoured to do so.

I met up with my co-conspirator on Monday night at my local drinking hole and we discussed what the future may hold for the group, now that we’ve got our greasy paws on it. I was amazed at how the ideas flowed and was pleased that my new-found colleague has quite a lot more experience than I do, in matters of writing and general creativity. I took up my usual meeting role of listening to his ideas and piping up with unusual, interesting or slightly “out there” addendums.

The next step, I guess, is to actually go and chair the next meeting, which has been booked and is just waiting for a confirmation before we send the invite out. it could well be fun and is likely to involve quite a steep learning curve, but will hopefully allow the group to continue to function as a useful resource for local authors, writers and generally odd people.

In case you’re interested this is Martin’s website. it’s pretty interesting!

Oh, I’ve also put together a new website for the group, but I’ll talk about that another time.

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Daughter, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

Leave a Reply

