Email – If Anyone Can’t…

After moving to Australia earlier this year I finally got round to finding out if it would be possible to get our old Canon MP620 multi-function printer plugged in and working again. It appeared that the printers are locked down so they only accept cartridges from the country they originated in.

I wrote to them to ask about region unlocking and got this response:

Dear Dan,
Thank you for contacting Canon Australia.
 
I regret to inform you that all Canon printers is regional exclusive when it comes to ink cartridges. We do apologise for the inconvenience.
 
If you require further information or assistance please contact Canon on 13 13 83, select option 2 and quote reference ********.
 
 
Regards,
 
Francis John Santos
Customer Service Representative
Customer Support
Canon Australia Pty Ltd
P: 13 13 83 | W: www.canon.com.au
Social: Facebook | Twitter |
YouTube

 

I was displeased with this response so I drafted and sent the following message:

 

Francis,

You do know that HP allow region unlocking on all their printers???

I have included a picture of the Millenium Falcon, blasting my Canon MP620, to show you how I feel about this!
With deepest regrets
Dan

This is the picture I attached:

My Canon MP620, Being Blasted By The Millenium Falcon

My Canon MP620, Being Blasted By The Millenium Falcon

I doubt this will help my cause any, although I subsequently got another email from them with details of my “local service centre”, but it did, at least, make me feel a bit better about the whole situation!

I’d just like to give a quick shout to the man, nay internet institution that is David Thorn at 27b/6, without whom I would never have considered doing something so silly.

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

Leave a Reply

