Snowflakes Keep Falling On My Head

Before I started writing my book I had been in discussions with my brother Rich, about writing something together. It never quite got off the ground but he showed me a method of planning out a story so you don’t have to just throw words at a page until some stick. It’s called the Snowflake Method and was created by a guy called Randy Ingermanson.

As ever my brother found better things to do and so I decided I’d try it out on myself.

The first stage of the method is to create a one sentence summary of your entire novel idea. This may sound simple but summarising a whole book in (about) 15 words is not as easy as you might think. It took me almost two lunchtimes (I wrote pretty much the whole novel during my lunch hours at work), so roughly two hours to get it almost right.

Initially I was going to write something about a physicist inventing a time machine but then realised that that was quite self explanatory and probably didn’t need to be part of it.

The nice thing is that when (IF) you finish writing your book you can use this as the tag line for your book on e.g. Amazon/Waterstones/Dymocks/Wherever as the hook to catch a prospective reader.

Anyway after a lot of arguing with myself this is how it turned out. I’ll reveal more about my planning process when I have a bit more time.


 

 

Time Machine is invented but causes catastrophic environmental problems in present.

 


 

About Dan Ladle

Part Man, Part Machine, All Diabetic. 1 Wife, 1 Son, 1 Daughter, 1 Cat, 1 Insulin Pump, Type 1 Diabetic, Writer, Musician, Web-Monkey, Idiot. View all posts by Dan Ladle

Leave a Reply

